When the gift of life gives back

The following was written by Mike Boyd, who works inAmerican Red Cross blood donor recruitment:

As I reflect back over the last year, I am so thankful for many blessings.

One blessing I want to share is the birth of my granddaughter. One year ago, my daughter went into labor with her first child, and things were going very smoothly until she was getting ready to start pushing.

I left the birthing room and went to the waiting room. As I was sitting there with all kinds of dreams about my future with my first grandchild, my wife came into the waiting room with a very worried look on her face. We heard that there was an emergency in obstetrics, and we saw staff running in from everywhere.

Mike Boyd enjoys some cuddle time with his granddaughter.

We waited for more than an hour, and finally asked someone to check on our daughter. They told us that our daughter was in recovery and we could not see her until she wakes up. At that point, my wife and I were scared to death. We tried not to lose control.

Then, our son-in-law showed up with our granddaughter, and my wife and I both cried at the sight of her.

Our son-in-law told us that our daughter “crashed” during delivery and they had to do an emergency cesarean section. He told her that we would have to wait to see our daughter, but we could hold our grandbaby. So we did.

I was the first person to rock her to sleep, singing “You Are My Sunshine” over and over.

She was so precious, so beautiful, and so very small.

Later, the nurses told us we could go see our daughter. When we walked into the recovery room, my daughter said, “Thank you, Daddy. You saved my life, and now your grandbaby will know her mother. I know now why you love your job.”

That’s when I saw a unit of American Red Cross blood hanging beside her bed, being transfused, and I couldn’t help but cry again.

Leave a Reply

