If I can do it, anyone can

From Red Cross Chat

image

Chris Hemenway, creator of BRIC-A-BRATS comic strip, recently gave blood with his son and daughter in tow. Then he made his experience into a strip.

It was helpful, however, to have Megan there by my side every few minutes asking those thoughtful questions of hers. “Are you going to cry now?”, “That looks like it hurts really bad, daddy!”, “If you pass out, I will be really embarrassed you know, so you’d better not!” After what seemed like hours, they finally drained what felt like 90% of my blood out of me, I got a free Red Sox tee shirt a snack and some juice and we were on our way.

All in all it was a really good experience (even though I’m kind of a wimp when it comes to this stuff) and I’ll definitely give blood again, and if I can do it anyone can! So get out there the next time there is a local Blood Drive and give some for Pete’s sake. If your afraid, let me know, I’ll send along Miss Megan with you for some moral support.

Leave a Reply

